Living well with bipolar disorder

Over three years ago when I first started blogging, I never shared my blog post on Facebook, I had not given a talk on mental illness and I was a ways from living well.  I was still angry I had been dealt the Bipolar card and I was struggling to accept myself.

I wanted desperately to feel apart of a community.  It meant something to me to be involved in helping other people.  I had a vision for what I wanted my life to look like, but getting there was a ways off.

Now, a month away from launching my book “Bipolar Disorder, My Biggest Competitor,” I can honestly say my vision has become a reality.  I feel free from all the baggage from the past.  I have learned to accept myself and all the things I am proud of and all the things I am not.  

I love helping other people learn about mental illness and I enjoy the mental health first aid classes I teach.  This week I’m teaching a group of principals.  I’m excited to continue shedding light on mental illness.

But what has changed for me in the past few months is that I now have a drive to also have some fun.  I realized more aspects of myself were coming to life.  I’ve been spending more time outdoors and really loving it.  Things have been coming together and I’ve felt blessed.

When I wrote that blog post three years ago about recovery-this is the life I had imagined.  I’m more than grateful I get to live the dream.  And excited to say recovery is possible and living well is a realistic dream.  

I love it when things work out the way I imagined they could.

7 thoughts on “Living well with bipolar disorder

  1. I’ve been an editor for a long time, and an author myself. I never cared to edit a memoir. But working with you on your book has had a huge impact on my life, and my wish is that your story will reach others, and show them how they can also build a meaningful, healthy life even while dealing with mental illness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really don’t believe I could have finished my book without you. Not just your editing, your friendship. You helped me build confidence and believe in my book. I’ll always be grateful to you.

      Like

  2. Hi Amy! What an inspiring piece. Thank you so much. ☺

    Peg
    Peg Morrison
    Director of Programs
    NAMI Ohio
    1225 Dublin Road, Suite 125
    Columbus, OH 43215
    Phone: 614-224-2700
    Fax: 614-224-5400

    “As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world… as in being able to remake ourselves.” -Mahatma Gandhi

    Like

Leave a Reply

