Pleased with progress 

When I started on this mental health advocacy journey I did not have any idea what to expect.  Three years ago I began blogging anonymously just to be able to express some of my frustrations of living with a mental illness.

My anonymity lasted about six months and at that point I decided I would rather live authentically and maybe I could help a few other people by being honest about my struggles.

That one step of courage has led me down a path filled with blessings.  I have met and intereacted with hundreds of people following my heart to raise awareness for mental illness.  People from all over the country and in some cases all over the world.  There are many kindred spirits who have picked up a banner to raise the flag for our cause–mental health advocacy!

Starting this new year I am already taken back by the invitations I have been receiving to speak about mental illness.  I am overwhelmed by the interest and willingness for different professional groups to have the desire to learn more about the issues and challenges of living with a mental illness.

My inbox is pleasantly surprised to be invited to the parties.  The places where people are gathering to shed light on mental illness and suicide.  Advocacy is happening and our culture is beginning to shift in how we start having these dialogues.  

For my small part in pushing the cause forward-I feel proud.  Mostly because I was willing to be vulnerable to help make a difference.  And it seems that honesty has some power to help fuel the movement even if in a small way.

No matter who you are or where you are fighting for your cause…keep up the work.  Eventually people will hear you and change can happen.  One day we will end the stigma once and for all.

Here’s to powerful social change in 2017! It is time stigma goes down in history.

7 thoughts on “Pleased with progress 

  1. It is advocates like you that will help end the stigma associated with mental illness. I am glad I connected with you in 2016 and look forward to what else I can learn from you in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy New Year, Amy! I’m so glad to see you post again. Thank you for working hard to educate folks and working to end the stigma. I have not gotten the courage yet to go public with my name although I am, along with another woman, starting a 10 week depression group next week. Perhaps this will be the year I reveal who journeyupward is. You are an inspiration. Keep up the good work and please keep letting us know how you are doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good on you for your continuous going. It is very rewarding and actually helps us as well as others who suffer from mental illness when we interact, albeit via youtube or blogging! I commend you for all you do, because as a fellow sufferer of mental illness, I have and am always privy to the stigma of ignorant people, who really don’t have time to investigate this huge worldwide crisis.

    I talk about bipolar and borderline on my youtube channel called ‘Bipolarline’. I interact with hundreds of people too, and find that we all are the same in one way or another. Please check my channel out if you have the time 🙂

    Lots of love and kudos to you
    Deborah x

    Like

Leave a Reply

