7 Ways to Beat Depression


Those of us who struggle with depression know the battle ebbs and flows.  Some days and weeks may go by without a symptom popping up.  Other times symptoms will hang on making everything you try to do more difficult.

I started thinking about ways I beat depression.  Truly this list is how I cope and it works well for me.

7 Ways to beat depression

1.  Let Yourself Be Inspired

I make it a habit to find and read or watch inspiring stories of people who have overcome huge hurdles.  I recently read about Bryan Anderson, an Iraq War Vet who is a triple amputee.  He lost his limbs from a roadside bomb in his second tour in Iraq.

Bryan has a will to live and amazes me with his enduring adventurous spirit.  Without legs and only one arm he snowboards, skateboards and drives a car.  This man is an inspiration.

When I read about people like Bryan I get really enthused about overcoming my challenges.  It is my fuel for the fight against depression.  Someone else is living well inspite challenges and that is an example I can follow.

2.  Help Someone Else

There is great healing in lending a hand to a person in need.  It does not have to be a headline garnering event it can be as simple as giving someone a ride to the grocery store.  Helping others is a two fold gift – everyone benefits and spirits get lifted.  Peer support groups are great ways to help support others.

3.  Pray Frequently

Most people I have read about who have had their share of challenges and then some talk about their faith in God.  I know praying has helped me find strength and after I attend church I am filled up with the power of the Holy Spirit.  I just love to say those words, “Dear God can you help me.”

4.  Get a Pet

I can’t say enough good things about having a pet or two.  I have had dogs for over 25 years and I can tell you my dogs were my therapy and my best friends.  They brought me joy, motivated me when I needed a reason to get out of bed.  And always greeted me with enthusiasm.  Pets aren’t the ones who need rescued it’s us humans who do.

5.  Take a Short Walk

We all know that ideally exercise is one of the best things you can to combat depression.  But the fact is it might be hard to motivate for the big walk or gym membership.  But taking a short walk can be easily attainable and even that short amount of time is nature works out really well.  I am a big believer that a little something is better than a lot of nothing.

6.  Have coffee with a friend

As much as I love social media I am still a big believer in the power of personal touch.  Just a short one hour date with a person you have a connection with can be a world of good.  Beats staying isolated.

7.  Teach Someone What You Learned

There is no greater gift that share a lesson that may not have been something that made you feel proud.  But maybe that lesson was so powerful it helps change another person’s life.  Don’t be afraid to teach the uncomfortable lesson the value will far exceed the risk.

9 thoughts on “7 Ways to Beat Depression

  1. Another great post!!! Words of wisdom to live by. I know, I allow myself to be inspired everyday. I have a great example of I how I was inspired yesterday, in a post I posted today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

