I gave up my ego to recover


You are probably watching the Olympics this week.  Athletes are reveling in glory and triumph.  They are at the top of the world.

Then there was me.  An Olympian struck down hard with bipolar disorder trying to make a come back in life.  That only happens with one small step day by day.  It means that no matter your past success you are going to have to swallow some pride.

In the fall of 2013 I found myself in a position where I needed a job.  I was not going to be able to pick up where I left off in my business career.  I was now effectively unqualified to walk back in a job and command six figures.  Those days were over and would definitely not occur again unless I pulled myself back one step at a time.

Much to my egos disappointment I decided to take a job at a local shoe store.  Selling shoes for $7.25 an hour wasn’t the hard part.  At the end of my first night I was handed a vacuum cleaner and told to start cleaning.

It wasn’t that I felt I was better than anyone.  I was like,”I went to school for a masters to vacuum floors?”  I kept telling myself I was working this job for the interaction with other people which I so desperately needed.

Night after night I vacummned that massive floor and night after night my ego disappeared.  After a while the focus was clearly on what I could glean from the situation.

I am happy to say my ego has sense recovered and I am no longer vacuuming during night shifts.  But if I had to do it over again I would do it knowing it was going to help me get better.

The truth is I would do anything if I knew it would help me recover.  Even if that meant doing a job I am far more qualified.

“Left foot.  Right foot. Breathe. Repeat!” ~Pat Summit

It does not mater where you have been but where you are going.  I am definitely moving forward.  Ego bruised and all.

In the end I know it will all work out.

Leave a Reply

