Life with Bipolar Disorder

Have you ever stopped to think what it may be like to live with bipolar disorder?  Probably not, unless you have a loved one who is impacted by it or you are personally affected.  So I want to take a few minutes to describe what living with bipolar disorder is like for me.

First of all, living with a mental illness affects your self-esteem and confidence.  There is not many things worse than getting a psychiatric diagnosis by our cultural standards. This is why I get so passionate about mental health awareness.  You cannot receive treatment for something if you don’t know what you are dealing with and yet the moment you get that “label” it can change how you think about yourself and how others see you.

Second, treatment is available and in most cases it works.  The downside is that it can take ten years to find the right combination of medications that work for each person.  Now for a moment imagine what it would be like to constantly change medications.  I believe I have taken more than 30 different meds before finally finding the right combination.  It is a long frustrating journey.

Third, medications have side effects.  It takes time and sometimes learning lessons the hard way before you understand for most people you can never stop taking medications for the remainder of your life.  No matter how many articles I have found where people say they get along great without medications, in my experience it is never an option for me not to take bipolar meds.  Even though the side effects of weight gain and slow metabolism feed into that whole idea of lack of confidence and self-esteem, it is still far better to be overweight than mentally unstable.

Finally, once you have recovered no one would ever know you live with an invisible illness.  You cannot see bipolar disorder and unless I hadn’t told the world I live with it you would never know.  This is one of the many benefits of recovering and that I can attest is something you can do!

Living with bipolar disorder is just a fact of life for me.  But the journey was long and arduous before I could get to this point.  If you are a family member of a loved one who lives with bipolar disorder keep the faith your loved one will get better.  And if you live with bipolar disorder keep on fighting it will get better.

7 thoughts on “Life with Bipolar Disorder

  1. wow, this really put things into perspective for me. I never thought about how we don’t want a mental health diagnosis because of society’s standards but we need one to get better. That is especially big in eating disorders because society is what causes eating disorders a lot of the time anyway, then the eating disorder diagnosis also normally goes with along diagnosis’ and I have been ashamed of all of them! I really liked this blog post 🙂

    Like

  2. I am out of pills since 2 months already, I dont even wanna go to the doctor anymore.. I am just sick of pills.. I am not so well but… I have already enough experience to know how to hide my illness even that it is “invisible’, untill one point yes it is.. but when you get manic, that it is not invisible anymore… the people are scared of you, they dont know what the heck it is happening to you and they come with questions…

    Like

      1. You are well on your way to writing that book! There are groups around that can help support you in that goal. I am part of Lakeland Christian Writers, which is a chapter of American Christian Writers. Maybe there is a chapter in your area. I am working on a book of my own that is not finished yet, but in the process I was asked to be a contributing writer to the book: Groove: Stories to Refresh the Way We Think and Feel about our Mental Illnesses. It has 52 weeks of short stories and each story has a question to reflect on for each day of the week. Daphne Tarango compiled 10 contributing Authors with mental illnesses stories. It is available on Amazon & Barnes and Nobel. There is a link on my blog page.

        You are gifted and I look forward to reading your book!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

