Bipolar Disorder Cheated Me!

despairhope

Do you ever feel like your mental illness cheated you out of something? There are some days when I open my eyes after a long night’s rest and I just lie there in bed. I start thinking about what my day holds for me. What do I have to accomplish? Do I work today or am I going to have to figure out how I can be productive for the day? At times I get frustrated with this merry go round. I am tempted to fall back into dreaming about the past where getting up in the morning guaranteed I was going to have a full plate of activities and things to do.

In my recovery journey I came to realize that having a sense of purpose was one of the most important parts of getting well and staying well. Of course it is not always easy to accomplish this goal, but when I do I feel so much better about myself.

Today is just not one of those days. Today I feel like I have been cheated. I feel short-changed in the game of life– all my past dreams and ambitions stolen away from me because I ended up with a rather severe case of bipolar disorder. This vicious illness robbed me of my life as I once knew it.

There I said it. I have made it clear that I loathe bipolar disorder. I am not one of those people who like the manic highs with endless creative energy. I hate everything about this disorder. Some would say because it is a part of me I must hate myself too. But I don’t really look at it like that. I look at it as an illness separate and apart from me. It may affect my moods, but it does not influence the positive aspects of myself anymore than I like being thought of as a negative person when I am depressed.

It’s an illness. A nasty mental illness. I don’t think people who have cancer love their disease, nor do they romanticize it. There is nothing positive about living with an illness whether it is mental or physical. It is exactly what it is—an illness.

I know some people will take issue with me and in attempt to make me feel better about having a mental illness they will point out all the famous people and celebrities who also have lived with bipolar disorder. This does not make me feel better. It only tells me that mental illness does not discriminate. It also tells me that people who have lived with or currently live with a mental illness have done some pretty extraordinary things. I am grateful for those stories. But it still doesn’t make me feel any better on a day-to-day basis of struggling with my own illness.

So on days like today, when I would rather have stayed in bed all day long, I consider it a success to have let my feet hit the floor. I hold on to the fact that I am in no way alone in the battle against a mental illness. And I know that I am not alone in having those days when I feel like I have been cheated.

I am not willing to pretend my journey with bipolar disorder has been or will ever be easy. Some days I win and some days the whole idea of having this illness gets the best of me.  When that happens I look for the small wins and hope for a better tomorrow.

 

14 thoughts on “Bipolar Disorder Cheated Me!

  1. I completely relate to what you’re saying. I go through stages in which I feel cheated out of the life I could’ve had, were it not for bipolar disorder. I try to make the best of the situation I’m in and often succeed for awhile.

    Like

    1. Hi Robin1967,
      I am glad you can relate to what I was saying..even though in a perfect world I wish no one else had to suffer with the bipolar clouds. I think you hit the nail on the head, “make the best of the situation!” On most days that works for me, but sometimes I get a little overwhelmed and can’t quite put on my optimistic hat. Thanks for commenting. Hope your day is a good one.

      Like

  2. You’re right on the money. Many mental illness rob us of precious days, months and years. I go to therapy, I work hard to remain positive. The fact is I’m not capable of doing what I was. My past was very stressful and stress kicks my but. I think it’s important coming from you because people think “oh” look what she used to do. You know in your heart you have a new life now. Some are good some are not. It’s a good day when your feet hit the floor. You have a passion in your heart to share your experiences to help others, not a bad job to have. I think people need to see this chipper person named Amy has bad days just like everyone else. I’m here for you anytime you need me. Take my hand. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Looking for the Light. You are so right, we all have good days and bad days and a lot of in between days too. Yesterday was one of those days when I simply did not feel well. It’s harder to slay the dragon when you are not up to par! Thanks for your willingness to support me. I really appreciate your kindness!

      Like

  3. I do feel cheated by bipolar. But more often I feel bullied by the illness. I have to work so much harder at everything, be more careful with everything, suffer more judgment, than the average healthy person. It always seems as if the odds are continuously stacked against me.

    Like

    1. Hi Pieces of Bipolar,
      I am so sorry you can relate to what I wrote. I know the journey is hard, but I can tell you it does get easier. It’s a tough illness, as you know, but the more you can learn how to manage it the better you will feel. You will get to a point that it won’t “bullie” you anymore. It just takes a little time, but you’ll get there! If I did, I know you can.

      Like

    2. We have more strength and character than the well ones. We have to remind ourselves of that, and have hope for the future. You are amazing. We all are. People don’t realize what we endure.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

