From Olympic Athlete to Bipolar Patient, Who am I really?

I recently wrote my bipolar journey for Mental Health Talk.  Trish, the founder of the site has lots of opportunity for those people who are living with a Mental Illness to share their stories.

If you are interested in reading about my journey from being an Olympian to getting diagnosed with bipolar disorder here is the link to Mental Health Talk:

http://mentalhealthtalk.info/bipolar-olympic-athlete

I would also encourage people who want to share their stories get in contact with Trish.  The more people who share the better opportunity we all have to continue to knock down stigma and to let others know they are not alone in this battle.

3 thoughts on “From Olympic Athlete to Bipolar Patient, Who am I really?

  1. Wow Amy, what an interesting story. Living with mental illness but without the insight to realise you are sick, as is apparently common, is not pleasant with the effect being your life spiralling out of control. The same thing happened to me, living with BiPolar for decades before realising how messed up I was and then only getting the diagnosis last year. Prior to that I was diagnosed with ADD, OCD, Dysthymia and Narcissistic Personality Disorder. And the medications for those made everything worse. Once on the antipsychotic, seroquel, tings immediately changed for the better. The suicidal thoughts abated, and the date I set to take my life came and went, and the delusions disappeared. I have since reconnected with the world I had withdrawn from. My career has spiralled backwards over the years into over a decade of, for the most part, of unemployment. My career as an Accountant long since gone.
    But now, with the medication increased after the diagnosis last year, my life is finally moving forward. Day by day and a little at a time I am rebuilding my life.
    Thanks for sharing your story.
    cheers, Glenn.

    Like

    1. Hi Glenn,
      So glad you shared a bit of your story with me. Sorry you had a rough road too. Unfortunately, many of us have had to struggle quite a bit with this bipolar journey. But I’m glad you have found the right combination of medications that work for you. It really does get better with the proper treatment. Keep plugging along…things really start to look up when you feel better. Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

