The Lies Depression Tells You

Depression is…

I have been blessed not to have many physical ailments, however, I feel like I have been “cursed” with depression (I know that’s not true). Depression is the kind of illness that makes any physical illness worse. It affects the mind, body and spirit and does so with a relentless grip that causes emotional torment. A therapist once told me, “Depression tells you lies Amy. You can’t believe those lies.”

Given you know how terrible depression really is what do we do to survive through the episodes? What are some ways we can get through the times we are sick? If depression lies to us then who can tell us the truth and will we listen when they do?

The Lies Depression Told Me

I recently just got well from another major bipolar disorder depressive episode. It lasted about 4 ½ months. It got worse before it got better and it took a medication change to help me begin to feel better. I had a few suicidal thoughts but nothing like I have had in the past. Mostly the thoughts that said, “You’re never going to recover. You’ll always be depressed.” I knew that was a flat out lie and I knew right away that I was dealing with the symptoms of depression.

I survived this last episode by recognizing the lies immediately. I called them what they were and it seemed to stop the endless torment that can happen. I began to think about other things and kept acknowledging what I was dealing with. I gave myself a break and stopped beating myself up for sleeping 14-15 hours a day. I believed I could trust my doctor to prescribe the right medication, at the right dosage that was going to help me. When hope ran away I ran after it.

Surviving A Depressive Episode

What also helps me is to research specific topics about depression. This works if I can concentrate long enough to read the article because sometimes my concentration goes by the way side when depressed. But I focused on doing a little bit at a time—read a little here—research a little there. I read anything to get some form of relief.

It helped me to seek out positive stories about people who had recovered. I liked learning their stories and allowed myself to be lifted up by their celebrations. I turned to the Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance and explored some of their resources. I even returned to one of the DBSA peer group meetings.

5 Helpful Strategies

In summary here are the strategies I used to help me survive my last depressive episode:

1)   Recognize the symptoms and don’t believe the lies

2)   Have patience and forgiveness for not being able to complete daily activities

3)   Look for positive examples of people who have recovered—it will provide HOPE

4)   Look to someone you trust to help you (maybe a physician)

5)   Believe things will get better—they always do!

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Lies Depression Tells You

  1. Thank you so much, Amy. You are a blessing. This post came at the right time. I have been fighting “sleepiness” for the last couple of months. I didn’t even think it might be a depressive episode. (Oh, those lies!) Time to see my doctor. Bless you.

    Like

    1. Susan,
      Thank you very much for your kind words. I’m glad you found the post helpful. I know for me as much as I know about depression sometimes the episodes sneak up on me and I don’t realize I’m suffering. I hope everything works out with your doctor. Thanks again.

      Like

  2. Yet another wonderful post. I’m *so* glad that I found your blog, and I am even more glad that you are doing well and sharing your journey with us lucky readers.

    Like

    1. Hey Dyane,
      I am so inspired by your comment. I set out blogging believing in the importance if sharing and your comment reinforces the fact I am on the right track. Thanks!

      Like

  3. Last month, I wrote a similar post about how mental illness can lie to us, and shared how those lies drew me to that dark place of suicide. I’m glad you’re able to identify those lying thoughts for yourself. 🙂 keep holding on to hope. Wishing you all the best! -Nicole

    Like

    1. Hi Nicole,
      It took me many years to figure out the symptoms of depression and how depression can really influence what you think about and how you think. I’m glad you were able to have the insight into how a mental illness can lie. I have found it helpful to know how depression affects me. Thanks so much for your comment. I wish you the best as well. Amy

      Like

Leave a Reply

