Returning to Work After a Psychiatric Disability

One aspect of recovering from a mental illness is returning to the work force. Although statistics are not that favorable in supporting those of us who want to return to work, there are some resources I have found to be somewhat helpful. Working is more than just a paycheck. It is a means for social interaction, a chance to utilize skills and a great way to build confidence. Not everyone can go back to work, but those who want to try deserve to have resources in place to support the process.

In my own personal search for resources I have found a few web sites to be of value. The first site is called Employment Resources and the second is Mental Health Works. These two sites are specific to those people who are recovering from a mental illness and who want to return to work. I have provided a bit more information and the links below.

The most important thing I have found is to believe in yourself and know that if you continue to be persistent you will find a place in the work force. It might take a few different jobs to get you back on track again, but hopefully each one will provide some value to you. If anyone would like to be a part of a support group for those who want to return to work send me an email at agamble162@aol.com with your contact information and I will organize a support group teleconference.

Here are two web sites with good information.

Mental Health Works – Mental Health Works is a national initiative of the Canadian Mental Health Association. They have a wealth of information about going back to work after a period of absence caused from a psychiatric disability. Although some of the information is specific to Canada, the Steps to Employment guide provides many exercises and tips to get ready for a job search. I like that this guide talks about the challenges we face after having been out of the work force for a little while. I found it very resourceful in helping me identify my strengths. It also has examples of different kinds of resumes, and based on the information you can decide what you need for your job search.

Employment Resources -Hamilton County Ohio Mental Health and Recovery Services Board provides valuable on-line resources to help people with psychiatric disabilities return to work. The resources link to valuable information to assist you with everything from resume writing to obtain a small business loan to starting your own business. A couple of the links are not found, but there are still some valuable resources worth reading.

I hope you find some of the information helpful.

7 thoughts on “Returning to Work After a Psychiatric Disability

  1. I commend you for your desire and effort to return to work. I have attempted to resume work in two part-time jobs and thus far have been unsuccessful. But there is always hope.

    Like

    1. Hi Tony..,I understand where you are coming from. I have had a few different jobs and have not been able to resume my old career. It is a tough decision to return to work but I really enjoy it and it helps me to stay healthy.

      Like

  2. It takes a lot of patience in returning back to the work force and usually you have to start at the bottom for a little while until you can find the work that cliques with your skills. It is like a building process. But for me it is well worth it.

    Like

  3. One other comment, just remember every job is important, weather your sweeping the floors or working in fast food. You’ll pick up valuable skills every where you work. One small step at a time.

    Like

  4. Thank you for writing this as I am currently having problems returning to work, even in my Internship at school. I will look into these websites!

    Like

Leave a Reply

