The Letters After My Name

Laura’s post is so powerful and through her words I found a kindred spirit, one who could understand exactly how I feel.

Bipolar For Life

Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA, FAAP.  What do these letters mean, of themselves, and what do they mean to me?  Why do I use them, here on Bipolar For Life?  What, if anything, do they have to do with bipolar-ness?  And most importantly, why do I insist upon using them when the professional qualifications they symbolize are now meaningless?

MD: Medical Doctor.  A passion since childhood, hard-won.  I put myself through college (oh yes, another set of letters: BA, Bachelor of Arts) by holding down three jobs while taking a full course load.  I know, I know, hypomania.  But it was fun, and I would have graduated with honors except that the required Honors Seminar conflicted with one of my jobs.  Oh well.

The MD turned into a combined degree program in Medicine and Medical Anthropology, six years.  Graduated with a perfect grade point average, 5.0.  Number One in my…

View original post 487 more words

2 thoughts on “The Letters After My Name

Leave a Reply

